Copper Fox Condominiums are located directly across from Cape Cod Bay in the town's East End gallery district.
Copper Fox boasts a fabulous location and property. The house is one of the most beautiful in Provincetown with one of the best lawns and gardens in town. The very large front yard is enclosed by a white picket fence. There is a fountain and common sitting area in front of the trellis that leads to the rear yard. The rear yard has additional common areas, including a screened gazebo.
Located in what is now a thriving art and restaurant district, the Copper Fox is at the Eastern most edge of the hustle of Commercial Street. Far enough out of town for a quiet night's sleep, yet it's just a short walk from the many local hot spots. Well over a dozen galleries can be found within a block, and across the street is the Provincetown Art Association and Museum. In summertime, Friday night is opening night and the whole area plays host to Provincetown's wonderfully eclectic art community.
The house was originally built in 1856 as the private residence of Mr. William Bangs (the street on the eastern edge of the property was named after him). It's a stunning example of the Federal Colonial style which was quite popular among the rich sea captains of the day. Directly across the street from the bay and standing a full four stories, it has an impressive view of Provincetown harbor and authentic charm.
From BUILDING PROVINCETOWN:
The home was in the Bangs/Engels family until the passing of Ruth Engles in 1993. The house was purchased by John Gagliardi. He renovated the house and opened Copper Fox Guest House, which he ran until 2005. The house was then purchased by Jacquelyn Abromitis and Kathleen Ulisse. They converted it to 3 condominiums in 2005. John Gagliardi now owns and operates The Foxberry Inn.